The Visionary Vocalist Forum

Full Version: Does teaching get in the way of singing?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
So, I'm a musician as you all know http://jaromeubanks.com/ check it out holla! Over the past few weeks I have been thinking of getting into coaching because I feel like singing is a lot more complex then it needs to be and I could definitely simplify a lot of it. I was not a natural singer and it took me a while to figure things out. so, if someone is having problems chances are I have had that same problem and have techniques to fix it. However, I wouldn't want teaching to get in the way of my career as a musician.  I could see myself teaching to pay the bills and slowly stop writing songs and performing at venues. I want to be known as a singer first and a teacher second not the other way around. Is this a legit fear?
Your fears are not totally unfounded.

Time that could be spent writing songs will be spent teaching. But that is supposing that you would use a majority of your time to write songs. I don't think it has to be either / or.

There is the danger of burning out on musical stuff. Such as dealing with singers all day and now you just want a break from songs, altogether. That won't necessarily happen but it could.

But it can regardless of what you do. I am not a vocal coach and I do not make money from music. I am operations manager for a contractor in a specialized area of electrical work. And I live quite a distance from where my office is. So, most of my singing is in the left hand lane, 80 mph, on cruise control. Even if I wanted to teach voice, my time for such is very limited. In addition, I am old, another mark against me.